To Study Daily Current Affairs, Click here. To Download Budget Highlights. Click here.





Q.1. Which one of the following statements is correct?                                                   (1999)

(a) Kacchativu and Tin Bigha were territories acquired by the Indian Republic from the French

(b) Kacchativu and Tin Bigha are territories handed over to Sri Lankan and Bangladeshi sovereignty respectively by the Government of India

(c) Kacchativu and Tin Bigha are areas that were annexed by the Chinese in the 1962 Sino-Indian War

(d) Kacchativu and Tin Bigha are enclaves which are transferred to India by lease arrangements with Sri Lanka and Pakistan respectively.


Q.2. Which one of the following statements is incorrect?                                                 (2000)

(a) Goa attained full statehood in 1987

(b) Diu is an island in the Gulf of Khambhat

(c) Daman and Diu were separated from Goa by the 56th Amendment of the Constitution of India

(d) Dadra and Nagar Haweli were under French colonial rule till 1954.


Q.3. Which one of the following schedules of the Indian Constitution lists the names of states and specifies their territories?   (2003)

(a) First                                                               (b) Second

(c) Third                                                              (d) Fourth


Q.4.  Consider the following events:                                                                                 (2004)

  1. Fourth general elections in India
  2. Formation of Haryana State
  3. Mysore named as Karnataka State
  4. Meghalaya and Tripura become full States

Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the above?

(a)  2-1-4-3                                                           (b) 4-3-2-1

(c)  2-3-4-1                                                            (d) 4-1-2-3


Q.5. Which one of the following pairs is not correctly matched?                                       (2006)

(a) State Reorganization Act                               :   Andhra Pradesh

(b) Treaty of Yandabu                                          :   Assam

(c) State of Bilaspur                                             :    Himachal Pradesh

(d) Year 1966                                                       :    Gujarat becomes a State


Q.6. Which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the formation of the following as full States of the Indian Union?  (2007)

(a) Sikkim-Arunachal Pradesh-Nagaland- Haryana

(b) Nagaland-Haryana-Sikkim-Arunachal Pradesh

(c) Sikkim- Haryana- Nagaland-Arunachal Pradesh

(d) Nagaland-Arunachal Pradesh-Sikkim-Haryana


Q.7. Which was the Capital of Andhra State when it was made a separate State in the year 1953?   (2008)

(a) Guntur                                                              (b) Kurnool

(c) Nellore                                                              (d) Warangal



For Answers Click Here